Trucker In California
Gr Trucking | Concrete Recycling | Material Trucking | Sacramento
Large trucks pose some of the greatest threats on the road. Unfortunately, if you have been on the road enough times you have probably seen a big rid accident and we know it was not pretty. For that reason, the trucking industry is regulated by stricter federal and state laws. Today we are going to go over a few of them. So, if you are a new trucker in California, pay close attention.
Along with your hours, be ready to keep track of your activities while on the road. These are called truck driver logs. Per FMCSA rules, you must keep track of where and when you stop, how often you are taking rest breaks, and note the results of vehicle inspections along your route. You will probably use what is called an electronic logging device (ELD) and this is designed to simply keep you and other truck drivers honest.
In California, truck drivers are required by federal and state law to inspect their vehicles regularly for damaged or worn parts to avoid serious safety issues. You are required to inspect before, during, and after each trip. You are also required to make sure that all cargo has been properly secured within the first 50 miles of your trip. After that first initial check, you are required to make additional inspections every 150 miles or every three hours.
Lastly, know that California has stricter DUI standards for commercial vehicle operators than for drivers of non-commercial vehicles. So, instead of a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08, you will be held to having a BAC of .04 or less. CDL holders who are found guilty of a DUI will have their license revoked in addition to facing civil and criminal penalties.
Because driving a big rig is so much riskier than driving a normal vehicle, you will be held to a higher standard. Although it might be more of a headache, remember that it is only for the safety of you and those around you. Be aware of these laws if you are new trucker California.